Getting Creative Wedding Edition – Part One

Getting Creative Wedding Edition – Part One

I made the majority of the print materials for our wedding myself.  I designed everything from invitations to thank you cards and everything in between.  Today I’m featuring one of my favorites, our save the date!

save the date!

I know, this is completely over the top but I love it!

Mark and I were both so nervous about getting our engagement photos taken.  Neither of us are too comfortable in front of the camera so we thought we would ask someone we already knew.  My co-worker is an amazing photographer and agreed to take our save the date photos.  She normally takes photos of physicians and peds. patients so she was a little out of her element as well!  The engagement photos turned out fantastic and were actually a lot of fun.

The Design

I probably made about five different designs for our save the date.  I didn’t know if I wanted to go with something simple and classic or a little more informal and fun.

If you can’t tell, I went the informal/fun route.  I figure the save the date was my opportunity to get creative and I could save the more formal stuff for the actual invitations.

This is a 5 x 7 flat card, printed on flat matte paper and mailed in an envelope.  I always use White House Custom Colour for my printing.  They have tons of paper and finishing options, do great work and I love their packaging!

I edited the photo (cropping and changed to black and white) in Photoshop and laid out the text in InDesign.

I used all sorts of different fonts, a few basic graphics, an engagement photo and included all the necessary info in a little story.

You can see some of my save the dates and other wedding designs at my etsy shop.

Leave a Reply

